Ruti Aga's Six-Year Ban: Methylprednisolone, a Forged Prescription and the AIU's Paper Trail
मुख्य उत्तर: रूटी आगा को एआईयू ने छह साल का प्रतिबंध दिया है—दो साल मिथाइलप्रेडनिसोलोन के लिए और चार साल फर्जी पर्ची/छेड़छाड़ के लिए। प्रतिबंध 10 सितंबर से प्रभावी; मार्च की चीन हाफ मैराथन जीत के बाद नमूना सकारात्मक आया। मुख्य तथ्य: - मिथाइलप्रेडनिसोलोन WADA की S9 श्रेणी का ग्लूकोकार्टिकॉइड है, एनाबॉलिक स्टेरॉयड नहीं; केवल इन-कंपटीशन प्रतिबंधित। - दो साल उपस्थिति उल्लंघन और चार साल छेड़छाड़/फर्जी दस्तावेज के लिए जोड़कर छह साल। - फर्जी पर्ची परिवार के एक सदस्य ने जारी की; क्लिनिक अस्तित्व में नहीं था, व्यक्ति पंजीकृत डॉक्टर नहीं। - 32 वर्षीय आगा 2019 टोक्यो मैराथन विजेता और तीन मेजरों में दूसरे स्थान पर रह चुकी हैं। स्रोत: एथलेटिक्स इंटीग्रिटी यूनिट (AIU) का बयान; 10 सितंबर की तारीख स्रोत में है, वर्ष स्पष्ट नहीं। संबंधित प्रश्नोत्तर: Q: क्या यह एनाबॉलिक स्टेरॉयड का मामला है? A: नहीं, यह S9 ग्लूकोकार्टिकॉइड है और केवल प्रतियोगिता के दौरान प्रतिबंधित है। Q: छह साल की गणना कैसे हुई? A: दो साल उपस्थिति + चार साल छेड़छाड़; बैकडेटिंग से 10 सितंबर से गिनती। Q: क्या 2019 टोक्यो खिताब रद्द हुआ? A: स्रोत में दायरा नहीं; आम तौर पर मार्च रेस का परिणाम रद्द होता है, पुराने खिताब स्वतः नहीं।
The prescription carried a clinic's name, a stamp and a doctor's signature. When the Athletics Integrity Unit checked, the clinic did not exist. The person who issued it was a family member, not a registered physician. He said he had used an old prescription pad from a former workplace. The clinic denied it. This was not a filing error. It was an attempt to manufacture a defence, and that attempt became the heaviest fact in Ruti Aga's career.
Aga, the 32-year-old Ethiopian marathon runner, has been banned for six years, the AIU said on Thursday. The ban is dated from 10 September, the same date her provisional suspension began. The source does not specify the year, but the statement's structure places the case in the current cycle. Two years are for the presence violation; four are for tampering. Six years in total. The arithmetic looks dry, but it contains the story.
Aga is not a marginal name. She won the 2026 Tokyo Marathon and finished second at three World Marathon Majors. In Ethiopian women's marathon depth, a 2:18-2:20 runner is not automatically selectable. In March she won a half marathon in China. A sample taken after that race was positive. The source gives no time, no splits and no field quality, so any performance judgment would be invention. The only performance fact is that she won, which implies a label-tier race with testing.

The substance was widely described as a steroid. That is technically wrong. Methylprednisolone is a glucocorticoid, class S9 on the WADA Prohibited List, not an anabolic steroid from class S1. Under the current list, S9 glucocorticoids are prohibited in-competition only, by injection, oral or rectal route. A therapeutic knee injection is legal out-of-competition. It becomes a violation when residues are present in-competition.
That is the legal hinge. A knee injection for synovitis is standard sports medicine in distance runners. With genuine medical records, a clear treatment date, a documented route and a TUE process, Aga had a defence. The forged prescription destroyed it. The AIU says the document came from a family member with no medical registration, from a clinic that did not exist, on a pad the clinic disowned. Three independent verification failures.
The sanction is also a governance signal. Two years for presence plus four for tampering is consistent with the Code. The panel evidently rejected the no-significant-fault mitigation that could have reduced the presence sanction. The backdating to 10 September is procedural, not a real reduction. At 32, a six-year ban runs to about 38. In Ethiopian women's marathon, that is effectively career-terminal.

The source does not state whether the March race result and prize money will be annulled. Standard AIU practice usually disqualifies the competition where the sample was collected. Ranking points are affected. The 2026 Tokyo title does not automatically fall unless earlier use is proven. Her record is now bifurcated: a genuine Major winner on one side, a six-year ban on the other.
I watched the 2026 Tokyo Marathon from a London edit room. Then, marathon analysis meant splits and stopwatches. Years of watching track and road racing have changed that. A marathon story is often decided not by the stopwatch but by the paper trail. The stadium emptied, and the stopwatch got louder; here the stopwatch was replaced by a prescription.
The contrarian point is that this is not an anabolic-steroid case. It is a glucocorticoid, injury and document case. A six-year ban for a substance with no proven endurance benefit looks severe. But most of the severity comes from the cover-up, not the substance. A forged prescription is itself evidence that a defence was felt to be necessary. That is where sympathy ends and accountability begins.
The systemic failure is real. East African road running often runs on appearance fees, agents and camp networks. Injured runners face pressure to mask pain. Glucocorticoids are cheap and available. If a team has no credentialed physician, a family member becomes the doctor. That is individual misconduct and collective governance failure at once. The AIU's enforcement frontier is shifting from sample detection to document verification. China's label-race circuit, where big fees, deep East African fields and AIU testing meet, will be watched closely.
An appeal to CAS remains theoretically possible, usually within about 21 days of the reasoned decision. But a document-based forgery finding is hard to overturn. Ethiopia's medal capacity will not change. The integrity conversation will. The next time an injured marathoner returns, the question will not only be her time. It will be where the treatment record is, who saw the TUE, and who on the team is a real doctor. Six years from 10 September cannot erase 2026 Tokyo, but it can show how one fake prescription outweighs the rest of a career.

